5 Second Water Savings Tip for Your Home

I love to blog about energy savings for around my home. Mainly because I am all about saving money. Recently I did a write up on a 5 minute project that can save you 5,000 Gallons of Water and fellow blogger YWWP posted a comment noting that he has an even easier water saving solution which I am calling the 5 second water saving tip.

His tip was simple. He writes quote;

one quick solution: All washbasins have a controller to water flow below it. It is always turned to full 100% water flow. If it is rotated little to reduce water flow to wash basin, it will save water.

He also did up a photo demonstrating how to do it which is not rocket science. Go under your sink, find the valve and turn it off slightly.  There is however a pretty big catch on whether this will work for you or not.

water-saving-wash-basin-water-flow-optimization-project

 

He notes in his comment that all sinks have this but unfortunately that is not true. In my own home of my 5 sinks only my kitchen sink has this. So I have no ability to do it in the rooms that count most, like my children’s bathroom where they waste so much water washing their hands for 3 hours at a time.

That said it is still a great tip and one you should do if you can. The only thing I would add is take the time to actually calculate how much water you are saving in your home. It is quite easy with a simple cup of water.

The steps I would do are as follows;

Measure the Water: With the tap in its normal full position fill a 1 cup measuring cup while TIMING it.

Do The Math : 1 Cup is 0.625 gallons of water. Divide that number into how long it took you to fill the cup. So if it took you 3 seconds its .625 divided by 3 seconds. Multiply that number by 60 seconds to figure out how many gallons of water you are using in a minute.

Make Your Adjustment: Make the valve adjustment above and repeat steps 1 and 2 and write down the number. Subtract the two and you now have your water savings.

Here is a quick hypothetical example.

  • I fill 1 cup of water in 3 seconds.
  • The Math is 0.626 divided by 3 seconds times 60 seconds = 12.52 gallons per minute

I now adjust my flow rate with the valve by 25% and my new numbers are;

  • I fill 1 cup of water in 7 seconds
  • The math is 0.626 divided by 7 seconds times 60 seconds = 5.35 gallons per minute.

If I subrtract those two nubmers I find that this 5 second fix is saving me 7.17 gallons per minute. Now please note I made up the amount of time it takes me to fill a cup just to give you an example of the math to do. You should not honestly have a sink that is putting out 12.52 gallons per minute unless your house was built in 1950.

Try the fix, do the math and figure out how much water this 5 second fix is going to save you. Thanks to YFWW for sharing it.

 

 

3 Comments

  1. That man’s suggestions are genius! I’m an environmentalist, and I think that we’re wasting far too much water. I think it’s important to consult with experts before you make any drastic changes, but this is a very neat, basic one. Awesome!

    Alex Jennings |

Leave a Reply

