5 Minute Project Can Save You 3,000 Gallons in Water

I am all about saving a dollar and typically almost every renovation I do in my home involves energy savings, comfort or convenience. In the past I did an article on how you can save up to 12,000 Gallons of water every year and that leads to my latest water saving article.

Where as the last article was not a DIY project this one is definitely something anyone can do and best of all you can do it in under 5minutes.

What is the spectacular plan I put into implementation to save 3,000 gallons of water? I installed a low flow shower heard in my master bathroom.

I have had a low flow shower head sitting in my bedroom dresser for the better part of  a year waiting to be installed and it was time to put it to work finally. I decided today to not only install the shower head but to also do the math and figure out how much money this 5 minute upgrade will save me.

My original shower head was a Moen 2.5GPM shower head. My new shower head is once again a MOEN all be it of much cheaper construction and ‘Made in China’ but it has a flow rate of 1.5GPM.

In order to figure out how much water I am going to save and how much money that will translate into we need to know two things. How much I pay for my water and how long my showers are.

The water bill part I already calculated for a previous article. The total water bill including the ‘Basic Water Charge’ and the ‘Basic Treatment Charge’ is $121.56 which means my cost per gallon of water is $0.0159 cents.

Now I just need to know how long me and my wife shower for. I could always time her to find out how long she is in the shower but that would no doubt get me into endless trouble. So instead we are going to use a common statistic from HomeWaterWorks.org

In an average home, showers are typically the third largest water use after toilets and clothes washers. The average American shower uses 17.2 gallons (65.1 liters) and lasts for 8.2 minutes at average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute (gpm) (7.9 lpm).

Lets quickly do some math on this. With my old shower head the formula looks like so;

2.5GPM x 8.2 minutes = 20.5 gallons per shower * .0159 cents per gallon = 0.32595

So basically every shower that I take right now costs me 33 cents. Add my wife to the equation and between the two of us it costs 66 cents on average combined per day. Multiply that out by 7 days a week and you get $4.62 a week. Multiply that out by a year and you get $120.45 cents

So on average the wife and I cost $240.90 a year to maintain our hygiene with the old shower head. Lets see what that looks like now with the new shower head.

1.5 x 8.2 = 12.3 gallons per show * .0159 cents per gallon = 0.19557 cents per shower.

So now my cost per shower is down to 20 cents. Combine me and my wife and its 40 cents. Multiply that out over an entire year and its $146.00 a year in showering costs.

This 5 minute project to install a MOEN shower head that the city gave to me for free as part of a green initiative will save me up to $94.00 a year and on top of that it will save 2,993 gallons of water every year making me such a green fellow.

I have already figured out a away to double my savings and cut my water bill in half again. I just have to convince my wife that we should start showering together.

If you are looking for other green ideas read my article Saving $1,000 One Bulb at a time

Photo via

2 Comments

  1. one quick solution: All washbasins have a controller to water flow below it. It is always turned to full 100% water flow. If it is rotated little to reduce water flow to wash basin, it will save water. Check this – http://wp.me/p3dJz1-d2

    1. I like the idea but none of my sinks have isolation valves installed so I can not do it. This method is quite simple to do and also test with a simple cup of water. I will likely do a blog about it when I get some time and see if any readers can do it. ( IE readers with valves on their sinks ).

Leave a Reply

